Osric Fingerbone and the Boy Murderer by Michael-Israel Jarvis

With full marks going to author, Michael-Israel Jarvis, for the highly compelling title of this, the first in a series of urban fantasy YA novels set in the dark and twisted world of this alternative version of 19th century England. A world very much set in the tradition of Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere or Jennifer Bell’s …

Continue reading Osric Fingerbone and the Boy Murderer by Michael-Israel Jarvis

Yuletide storytelling

There are some jobs that really satisfying, and a Christmas storytelling session in the ancient woodland that is Wrongs Covert is certainly one of those. Wrongs Covert is a protected woodland and hosts some incredible wildlife. It's protected status means that performing there is a privilege. A lot of the work done at Wrongs Covert …

Continue reading Yuletide storytelling

Doctor Who review: The Battle of Ranskoor Av Kolos

Finale time! After years of Russell T. Davis’ overblown “how many Daleks/companions/heart wrenching moments can we fit into one episode” followed by Moffat’s attempts at making quieter, more reflective and yet also bigger and more universe-shattering finales, what was Chibnall going to produce? What we got was something that in many respects did precisely what …

Continue reading Doctor Who review: The Battle of Ranskoor Av Kolos