Review of Landlocked by Doris Lessing

Landlocked is a frustrating novel. It’s about frustration and futility and transition. The previous novels in the Children of Violence series had Martha constantly involved. Martha was driven. She was wilful and energetic and stumbled from one crisis to next mostly convinced of her own righteousness. She puts “the cause” before herself, before her family …

Continue reading Review of Landlocked by Doris Lessing

Osric Fingerbone and the Boy Murderer by Michael-Israel Jarvis

With full marks going to author, Michael-Israel Jarvis, for the highly compelling title of this, the first in a series of urban fantasy YA novels set in the dark and twisted world of this alternative version of 19th century England. A world very much set in the tradition of Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere or Jennifer Bell’s …

Continue reading Osric Fingerbone and the Boy Murderer by Michael-Israel Jarvis