Review of Landlocked by Doris Lessing

Landlocked is a frustrating novel. It’s about frustration and futility and transition. The previous novels in the Children of Violence series had Martha constantly involved. Martha was driven. She was wilful and energetic and stumbled from one crisis to next mostly convinced of her own righteousness. She puts “the cause” before herself, before her family …

Continue reading Review of Landlocked by Doris Lessing

Osric Fingerbone and the Boy Murderer by Michael-Israel Jarvis

With full marks going to author, Michael-Israel Jarvis, for the highly compelling title of this, the first in a series of urban fantasy YA novels set in the dark and twisted world of this alternative version of 19th century England. A world very much set in the tradition of Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere or Jennifer Bell’s …

Continue reading Osric Fingerbone and the Boy Murderer by Michael-Israel Jarvis

Doctor Who review: The Battle of Ranskoor Av Kolos

Finale time! After years of Russell T. Davis’ overblown “how many Daleks/companions/heart wrenching moments can we fit into one episode” followed by Moffat’s attempts at making quieter, more reflective and yet also bigger and more universe-shattering finales, what was Chibnall going to produce? What we got was something that in many respects did precisely what …

Continue reading Doctor Who review: The Battle of Ranskoor Av Kolos